FASSGRAD Interdisciplinary Postgraduate Conference 2018

Date Thursday 8 - Friday 9 November 2018
Time 8:30am (Thursday 8 November) - 4pm (Friday 9 November)
Where S Block
Contact Mary Merlin
Contact email
Admission Cost Free

Graduate and postgraduate students from the University of Waikato and other Aotearoa New Zealand universities are warmly invited to join the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Te Kura Kete Aronui, at the University of Waikato in this annual celebration of graduate student research. The annual FASS Interdisciplinary Postgraduate Conference is an excellent opportunity for graduate and postgraduate students to come together from across New Zealand to share their ideas and research in a supportive, professional and congenial environment.


Presenters will each be allocated 15 minutes to present their research, followed by five minutes for questions. There will be a $500 prize for the best paper presented on each day of the conference and a $250 prize each day for a highly commended paper.

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences endeavours to profile and celebrate Kaupapa Māori research. In addition to the above prizes, there will be a $500 prize for the best Rangahau Māori paper presented across the two days of the conference. We invite all students engaged in Māori research to submit an abstract.


200-word abstracts must be received no later than 4pm, Monday 15 October and should include your name, full contact details and institutional affiliation (department/programme and University).  Submit your abstract and any additional documentation to Mary Melinn, Graduate Administrator: email

Conference registration is free for students whose papers are accepted for presentation. Please note that places at the FASS Interdisciplinary Graduate Conference are limited to around 30 participants and will be allocated upon receipt and acceptance of each individual submission.  Those planning just to attend the Conference may do so free of charge, but for catering purposes please register by 4pm Monday 15 October –